American Association of Hip and Knee Surgeons

Advocacy, Education, Research

Patrick Conway, MD Selected for Dr. Nathan Davis Award

January 13, 2017
For Immediate Release

Rosemont, Ill. – Patrick Conway, MD, MSc, Deputy Administrator for Innovation and Quality & CMS Chief Medical Officer, has been selected for the American Medical Association’s (AMA) Dr. Nathan Davis Award for Outstanding Government Service. AAHKS President, William A. Jiranek, MD, nominated Dr. Conway for his career in public service in the federal government. Dr. Jiranek stated that Dr. Conway “uses his wide and varied expertise, informed by real world experience, to administer the federal role of the nation-wide transition to value based care.”

Dr. Conway’s positions within the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) have placed him at the helm of implementation of major components of the Affordable Care Act of 2010(ACA) and the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act of 2014 (MACRA), two of the most transformative health laws in a generation.  He has proved worthy of the task by demonstrating conscientiousness and appreciation of the potential benefits and risks of these laws and their implementation on health professionals, institutional providers, systems, payers, and all other health care stakeholders.

He stands out in government for his high levels of courtesy, responsiveness, and transparency in communicating and working with stakeholders.  His prior real world health care experience means he can speak to providers and stakeholders in their own language.  His government experience makes him a politically astute administrator whose opinions are valued throughout Congress, the Administration, states, and leadership of national professional societies.

The Center for Medicare & Medicaid Innovation (the Innovation Center) is responsible for testing numerous new payment and service delivery models across the nation.  Models include accountable care organizations, bundled payments, primary care medical homes, state innovation models, and many more.  Under Dr. Conway’s leadership, the Innovation Center focuses on (1) Testing new payment and service delivery models; (2) Evaluating results and advancing best practices; and (3) Engaging a broad range of stakeholders to develop additional models for testing.  This work puts Dr. Conway in contact with providers of all kinds  that are pioneers in how valued based care and improved clinical quality will be manifested across the 50 states.

As prior Director of the CMS Center for Clinical Standards and Quality (CCSQ), he served as the focal point for quality, clinical, and medical science issues across CMS programs. CCSQ is responsible for all quality measures for CMS, value-based purchasing programs, quality improvement programs in all 50 states, clinical standards and survey and certification of Medicare and Medicaid health care providers across the nation, and all Medicare coverage decisions for treatments and services. Dr. Conway’s work there included close collaboration with the Agency or Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), the National Quality Forum (NQF), and provider stakeholders to accelerate the development and evaluation of useful clinical quality measures for their expanded use under the Quality Payment Program consisting of the Merit-based Incentive Payment System (MIPS) and Alternative Payment Models (APMs) and other demonstration projects.


About the American Association of Hip and Knee Surgeons:

Established in 1991, the mission of AAHKS is to advance hip and knee patient care through education and advocacy. AAHKS has a membership of over 3,000 surgeons and other hip and knee health care professionals.

Denise Smith Rodd